Image Collections

Several institutions and organizations, including the Currier, provide access for education and research purposes to inventories of photographs and slides of museum objects. These databases are provided free of charge and users should adhere to the guidelines governing fair use as outlined by the individual institutions.

Currier Collections Online
The collection contains over 12,000 objects. Most of the collection can be viewed online and many objects are accompanied by interpretive text and zoomable images.

The Digital Scriptorium
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. Includes search and browse functionality.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

National Gallery of Art NGA Images
A repository of digital images from the National Gallery. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.

NYPL Digital Gallery
provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library’s vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 29.000 reproductions.

WorldImages database from the California State University IMAGE Project
Contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.

Yale University Digital Collections
The cross-collection search retrieves results from over 500,000 images in selected Library Digital Collections. These collections include the Yale Visual Resources Collection, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library Digital Images Online and the Yale Department of Classics Collection.

One thought on “Image Collections

  1. Pingback: Sources for Images | Journal of Art Historiography

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s