We are thrilled to have our most ambitious library and archives focus exhibit to date open for visitors. This is some serious eye candy for book cover design fans. Here are just a few pics from the show but it really is worth seeing them in person. You have some time, the show is up until February 19, 2016.
DigitalCurrier is the first initiative of its kind for the Currier Museum of Art. The Museum Archives, located on the basement level of the museum, contain the institutional records of the institution from its inception in 1914 and opening in 1929 to the present. DigitalCurrier aims to provide high quality scans of Currier Museum of Art publications for educational use. DigitalCurrier currently includes all of the issues of the Museum’s first publication, The Bulletin, published between 1929 – 1994, as well as several dozen exhibition catalogs.
Search the collections here: http://currierartarchives.omeka.net/
Lucille and Isadore Zimmerman lived together with their dog, a dalmatian named Checkers, in their Frank Lloyd Wright-designed home. The Zimmermans had several formal portraits done of Checkers. Checkers became the focus of a celebration at the Zimmerman House in 1994. Dalmatian Day: Checkers’ Birthday Celebration held at the house included a checkers tournament, a human checkers game and a dalmatian dog show.
Checkers became the center of a great debate regarding the floor at the Zimmerman House. According to correspondence between Lucille and Frank Lloyd Wright’s offices at Taliesin, the red colorant used on the concrete was dusting off everywhere. We learn from a letter dated October 1, 1952:
Lucille goes on to mention that the prized polar bear skin rug she had acquired for the home under FLW’s direction “is red.”
Wright took quick action to remedy the situation and before long Lucille noted that “my dog is white again.”
We don’t have an image of Checkers in red, black and white, but here is a gallery of some photographs of the beloved dog and the Birthday Bash held in 1994 at the Zimmerman House (all images courtesy Currier Museum of Art Reference Library and Archives, Zimmerman Family Papers and Zimmerman House Collection).
We are immersed in Photorealism these days with the opening of our next exhibition Still Life: 1970’s Photorealism upon us (the show opens tomorrow 1/24) but this recent find in the rare book’s stacks reminded us of a complimentary conversation of the 1960’s and 70’s. The Museum of Modern Art’s “The Machine: As Seen at the End of the Mechanical Age” opened on November 27, 1968. You can see a scan of the original press release from the archives at MOMA. The exhibit was billed as “a collection of comments on technology” which explored the age of the “mechanical machine – which can most easily be defined as an imitation of our muscles.” Much like the catalog Billy produced in the same year, this exhibition catalog fits in the category of artist book. The book is bound in metal with an intensely modern image on the cover. Similar to the photorealist model of developing a painting from source photographs, the cover design by Anders Österlin was based on a photograph, in this case by Alicia Legg a curator at the Museum of Modern Art. The exhibit concerned itself with two machines in particular, the car and the camera and the human relationship to each. What do you make of the flyleaf below?
By this time next week the beautiful albums in our exhibit A Naval Officer’s Albums: Travel Photogrophay in the 19th-Century will be back in storage. Be sure to check them out before Monday and of course come back to see our next installation; highlights from the collection of former Currier Museum of Art Director Robert “Mac” Doty. The exhibit will focus on his insightful and visionary work in developing the fine art photography collection here at the Currier. The installation will include a few objects from the permanent collection with connections to Doty, either acquired under his leadership or donated to the colleciton by the artist in his honor.
We are exciting to announce we have officially begun work on our Bulletins Digitization Project thanks to the generosity of the Visual Resources Association Foundation Project Grant. And congratulations to our colleagues at Cleveland for their award!
The Library has recently purchased a subscription to JSTOR’s Museum Collection. “JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a
wide range of content on a trusted digital archive of more than one thousand academic journals and one million primary sources.”
With our subscription Currier staff, volunteers and visitors can now access hundreds of titles spanning a wide range of disciplines, including art and art history, architecture, film, language and literature, music, business, science, and many others. To access this content simply search or browse the interface here: http://www.jstor.org/. Our access is IP authenticated. This means you may access the content from anywhere on the Currier campus without a login but it will not be accessible off-site. This resource is for research and educational purposes only.