Databases and Online Journals

In addition to our extensive print holdings of books, periodicals, auction and exhibition catalogs the Currier Art Reference Library and Archives also subscribes to several online databases. In addition we have identified several open access resources to aid in your research.

JSTOR
The Currier Reference Library subscribes to the Museum Collection which provides access to hundreds of Humanities, Business and Science periodicals online. Titles include: Archives of American Art Journal; Art Journal; Art Bulletin; Artibus et Historiae; Design Quarterly; The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism; Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians; Studies in Art Education; Winterthur Portfolio; Woman’s Art Journal; and hundreds more.
Available for use on the Currier Campus.

Oxford Art Online
Through Oxford Art Online users access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Available for use in the Library.

Art Index
“A superior index for art information, this database features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions–providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. Art Index™ includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.”
Available for use in the Library

ArtNet
“The artnet Price Database is the most comprehensive color illustrated archive of fine art auction results worldwide. Representing auction results from over 500 international auction houses since 1985, the Price Database covers more than 4 million auction results by over 188,000 artists, ranging from Old Masters to Contemporary Art.”
Restricted Access

Ceramics: Art and Perception
“A journal dedicated to ceramic art. With a total of 120 pages, it contains approximately 23–28 reviews, substantial articles and regular features on a broad range of ceramics related subjects with excellent colour photographs throughout.”
See Librarian for access.

CAA (College Art Association)
Varied resources include book reviews, essays, exhibition reviews, research reports and access to CAA ReviewsArt Bulletin and Art Journal.

Harvard Business Review
Online database includes Harvard Business Review Journal, HBR blog, access to lectures and webinars.
Available for use in the Library

2 thoughts on “Databases and Online Journals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s