Fashion and Art

This guide represents resources available in print at the Currier Museum of Art Reference Library as well as free online resources. This guide was developed in conjunction with the exhibition Killer Heels: The Art of the High-Heeled Shoe.

Shoes

Killer Heels: The Art of the High-Heeled Shoelouboutin
Small, Lisa, Stefano Tonchi, Caroline Weber, Jay Zukerkorn, and Ghada Amer
2014.
Exhibition catalog.
GT2130 .K55 2014

Shoes: Pleasure & Pain
Persson, Helen. 2015.
London: V&A Publishing
A history of footwear with special emphasis desire, status and fetishism.
GT2130 .S56 2015

Introductory Texts

A Dictionary of Costume and Fashion: Historic and Modern : With Over 950 Illustrations
Picken, Mary Brooks. 1999.
Mineola, NY: Dover Publications.
“Defines more than 10,000 words related to clothing and fashion, providing over 950 illustrations and covering not only pieces of attire but also stitches, weaves, fabrics, and accessories.”
GT507 .P49 1999 REF

Fashion: The Definitive History of Costume and Style.
Brown, Susan. 2012.
New York, N.Y.: DK Publishing.
A comprehensive visual overview of fashion and costume from prehistory to the 21st century. Equal treatment of men’s and women’s dress with attention to shoes and accessories.
GT511 .F365 2012

Exhibiting Fashion

Exhibiting Fashion: Before and After 1971
Clark, Judith, Amy De La Haye, and Jeffrey Horsley. 2014.
“Research into international exhibitions from the early 20th century to the present results in some 150 stunning illustrations, including previously unpublished exhibition photographs and out-of-print documents. Through this research and the testimony of curators, exhibition designers, and mannequin manufacturers, the authors discover striking continuity in the development of the fundamental equation of mannequin, dress, and mise-en-scène. A comprehensive chronology from 1971 illustrates the exponential rise in exhibitions of Western dress on an international scale.”
TT502 .C53 2014

Fashion and Museums: Theory and Practice
Melchior, Marie Riegels, and Birgitta Svensson. 2014.
Interrogates the recent embrace of art museums for fashion exhibits. Essays from researchers, curators and instructors. Includes discussions of exhibits of garments and wearable objects as well as fashion photography.
NK4701.8 .F37 2014

Fashion, Art and Representation

Fashioning the Body: An Intimate History of the Silhouette
Bruna, Denis. 2015.
Fashioning the Body tracks the evolution of devices such as panniers, crinolines, and push-up bras to chains, zippers, and clasps-concealed beneath outer layers in order to project idealized figures. With more than 200 beautiful illustrations-including reproductions of superb historic advertisements-Denis Bruna reveals the industry and art of these contrivances meant to entice and beguile as well as assert status and power. Contemporary haute-couture designers Thierry Mugler, Jean Paul Gaultier, Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garcons, Christian Lacroix, and Vivienne Westwood are featured in this indiscreet tour of intimate fashion history.
TT677 .M4313 2015

Fashion at the Edge: Spectacle, Modernity & Deathliness
Evans, Caroline. 2003.
New Haven: Yale University Press.
An in depth exploration of the fashion world in the 1990’s with specific attention to what the themes of the decade tell us about consumer culture and contemporary anxieties. Includes designers, John Galliano, Alexander McQueen, Hussein Chalayan, Viktor and Rolf and Martin Margiela.
TT504 .E33 2003

Fashion and Art
Geczy, Adam, and Vicki Karaminas.fashion and art cover
2013.
Considers the crossover of fashion and art specifically the shift in fashion when garments move from consumer and pop culture into the museum space and become collectible. Ex;ores the art-fashion nexus in numerous ways from aesthetics to performance.
GT523 .F374 2012

The Power of Glamour: Longing and the Art of Visual Persuasion
Postrel, Virginia I. 2013.
“An exploration of glamour, a potent cultural force that influences where people choose to live, which careers to pursue, where to invest, and how to vote, offers empowerment to be smarter about engaging with the world.”
BH39 .P66925 2013

Appearances: Fashion Photography Since 1945
Harrison, Martin. 1991.
New York: Rizzoli.
TR679 .H36 1991 FOL

Online Resources

Europeana Fashion
Extensive website composed of 22 partners from 12 European countries, which represent the leading European institutions and collections in the fashion domain. Includes listings of upcoming fashion related exhibitions, search functionality, browse by designer, technique and color and explore by themes such as “space age” and “fashion illustration.”

FashionProjects.org
Interviews with artists, designers, writers and curators about contemporary fashion culture and exhibition.

Image Sources

LACMA Online Collections: Costume and Textiles
http://collections.lacma.org/node/589000

Drexel Digital Museum Project Historic Costume Collection
http://digimuse.westphal.drexel.edu/publicdrexel/index.php

UCLA Cashin Collection of Fashion, Theater and Film Costume Design, 1913-2000
http://digital2.library.ucla.edu/viewItem.do?ark=21198/zz0002bk1c

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s