Photography

This guide represents selected resources available at the Currier Art Reference Library and Archives and should not be considered exhaustive.  Most holdings will be found in the TR section of the stacks which are open for browsing.  Check the artist files for unpublished items and ephemera specific to individual artists. When an artist is represented in the Currier’s collection, object files may be available, please see the Librarian/Archivist for information and access.

Introductory Texts

Provide an overview of photographic technologies, periods, major terms and individuals from inception to present day.

A world history of photography.
Naomi Rosenblum.
New York : Abbeville Press Publishers, 1989.
712 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 30 cm.
TR15 .R67 1989 REF
A standard introductory text on photography. Arranged chronologically Rosenblum approaches the subject matter from the position of photography as an artistic medium. Contains excellent timelines, bibliography, glossary and index.

The origins of American photography, 1839-1885 : from daguerreotype to dry-plate.
Keith F. Davis ; with contributions by Jane L. Aspinwall.
Kansas City, Mo. : Hall Family Foundation in association with the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art ; New Haven : Distributed by Yale University Press., [2007].
TR23 .D387 2007 OV
Published to coincide with the exhibition “Developing Greatness: The Origins of American Photography, 1839-1885” at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, and based on the Hallmark Photographic Collection.

The Photograph.
Graham Clarke.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
247 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.
TR15 .C566 1997
A critical introduction to the photograph in cultural contexts and how photographs convey meeting. Emphasis on landscape photography.

A history of women photographers.
Naomi Rosenblum.
New York : Abbeville Press, 2000.
400 p. : ill. (some colored) ; 30 cm.
TR139 .R67 2000 REF

The new history of photography. 
Frizot, Michel.
Koln : Konemann, 1998.
775 p. : ill.
TR15 .N6813 1998 RREF
Critical essays by 29 authors considering the historical evolution of the photograph. Arranged by topic rather than chronologically.

Focused Studies and Source Texts

Burning with desire: The conception of photography.
Geoffrey Batchen.
Cambridge, Mass. : The MIT Press, 1999.
xii, 273 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
TR15 .B37 1999
An accessible text on the origins of photography. Batchen explores the dominating opposing philosophical points of view concerning photography’s identity: photography as a vehicle or tool dependent upon context versus aesthetic photography.

The last picture show : artists using photography, 1960-1982.
Douglas Fogle.
Minneapolis, Minn. : Walker Art Center, c2003.
335 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 26 cm.
TR645 .M542 W354 2003

Camera work: a critical anthology.
New York : Aperture, 1973.
376 p. : ill. ; 31cm.
TR642 .G69 1973 OV

Dialogue with photography.
Paul Hill and Thomas Cooper.
Manchester : Cornerhouse Publications, 1994.
339 p. : ports. ; 24 cm.
TR139 .D52 1995

American modern: documentary photography by Abbott, Evans, and Bourke-White
Sharon Corwin, Jessica May, and Terri Weissman.
Berkeley : University of California Press ; Fort Worth, Tex. : Amon Carter Museum ; Waterville, Me. : Colby College Museum of Art, 2010.
198 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
TR645 .F672
Three case studies of the work of Berenice Abbott, Walker Evans and Margaret Bourke White. Extensive bibliographic citations are included as well as a detailed chronology of the photographers’ careers.
Biographical information on photographers.

The meaning of photography
Clark Symposium (2005 : Williamstown, Mass.)
Williamstown, Mass. : Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute ; New Haven : Distributed by Yale University Press, c2008.
xxxi, 211 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
TR5 .C53 2005
Fifteen leading scholars discuss the discipline, practice, historiography, and study of photography. Essays by Geoffrey Batchen, François Brunet, Mary Ann Doane, José Luis Falconi, Robin Kelsey, Douglas R. Nickel, Blake Stimson, and John Tagg, and additional contributions by Lars Kiel Bertelsen, Anne McCauley, Jorge Ribalta, John Roberts, Eric Rosenberg, Eric C. Shiner, and Bernd Stiegler and photo essays by Sharon Harper, Lilla LoCurto and Bill Outcault, Fiona Tan, and Akram Zaatari.

Recent Posts

  1. Making Places: Artist Studios in New Hampshire Leave a reply
  2. Library and Archives Focus Exhibit – Book Cover Binding and Design Now Up! 1 Reply
  3. The Currier Museum of the 1950’s Leave a reply
  4. DigitalCurrier – A digital library from the Currier Museum of Art Reference Library and Archives Leave a reply
  5. Focus Exhibit: Modern Architecture in Manchester: The Frank Lloyd Wright Designed Zimmerman House Leave a reply
  6. Friday Finds (on Thursday): Maxfield Parrish Prep Leave a reply
  7. The Isadore and Lucille Zimmerman House Leave a reply
  8. Lucille, Isadore and Checkers Zimmerman Leave a reply
  9. Friday Finds – “The Machine” Leave a reply